This setting determines if roaming user profiles are available on a particular computer. By default when roaming profile users log on to a computer their roaming profile is copied down to the local computer. If they have already logged on to this computer in the past the roaming profile is merged with the local profile. Similarly when the user logs off this computer the local copy of their profile including any changes they have made is merged with the server copy of their profile.Using the setting you can prevent users configured to use roaming profiles from receiving their profile on a specific computer.If you enable this setting the following occurs on the affected computer: At first logon the user receives a new local profile rather than the roaming profile. At logoff changes are saved to the local profile. All subsequent logons use the local profile. If you disable this setting or do not configure it the default behavior occurs as indicated above.If you enable both the "Prevent Roaming Profile changes from propagating to the server" setting and the "Only allow local user profiles" setting roaming profiles are disabled.Note: This setting only affects roaming profile users.
At least Windows Server 2003 operating systems or Windows XP Professional