Shut down the system

This security setting determines which users who are logged on locally to the computer can shut down the operating system using the Shut Down command. Misuse of this user right can result in a denial of service.

Policy path: 

Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Local Policies\User Rights Assignment

Comments: 

Logoff required

Default: 

Default on Workstations: Administrators, Backup Operators, Users. Default on Servers: Administrators, Backup Operators. Default on Domain controllers: Administrators, Backup Operators, Server Operators, Print Operators.

Supported on: 

At least Windows XP SP2, Windows Server 2003

Registry settings: 

User Rights security settings are not registry keys

Reboot required: 

No