Network Location Awareness

The Network Location Awareness (NlaSvc) service collects and stores network configuration information, such as IP address and domain name changes, in addition to location change information. This service notifies compatible applications when this information changes so that they can reconfigure themselves to use the current network connection. If this service stops, network location awareness functionality is not available.

This service is installed by default on Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2, and its startup type is Automatic. If you configure this service with a startup type of Manual, dependent services usually start it.

When the Network Location Awareness service is started in its default configuration, it logs on by using the Network Service account.

The Network Location Awareness service is dependent upon the following system components:

  • Network Store Interface Service
  • NSI proxy service driver
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • DCOM Server Process Launcher
  • RPC Endpoint Mapper
  • TCP/IP Protocol Driver

The following system components are dependent upon the Network Location Awareness service:

  • Network List Service
  • HomeGroup Provider
  • WWAN AutoConfig

Related content